Wedding Chicken Recipe/Fiestaware

WC Cooked

I made this dish when I catered a wedding, so my family has started calling it Wedding Chicken. This is a photo of the colors of Fiesta that I have collected – some of you have shared that you collect too.I use frozen chicken tenderloins from Sam’s Club. Spray a 9×13 pan with Pam, fill with frozen tenderloins slightly overlapping in a one full layer cover with foil and put in 350 oven. In a large skillet saute a bunch of sliced mushrooms, sliced onions and minced garlic (I buy the garlic in a jar already minced). When I made this for 400 I had a commercial kitchen and used a large flat grill, now I fill a big skillet and saute in butter til tender. In a large glass or metal bowl combine a can of cream of mushroom soup, 2-3 big handfuls of shredded cheddar, and sour cream. Add a little milk if needed til it is about the consistency of thick yogurt. When your mushrooms, onions, and garlic are done stir them into the soupy cheese mixture. When your chicken is nearly cooked through – about 30-40 minutes after you put it in the oven. Pour your soupy, cheesey, mushroomy sauce over it and sprinkle a little more cheese on top. Cook until mixture is bubbling and chicken is 165 degrees. Sprinkle with a little paprika (I’m Hungarian) and serve with noodles or rice.

5 thoughts on “Wedding Chicken Recipe/Fiestaware

  1. Yummy! Sounds great! Thanks for sharing that recipe.

    My Dad collects Fiesta…he has a cabinet along one wall in the finished basement that is about 15 feet long and 8 feet tall that is full. He kinda went bonkers on ebay about 8 years ago buying it. That and the antique stores. I love how you can mix and match it and it is just so charming.

    🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing this recipe – I’m going to try this and see if my kids like it! I’ll probably have to leave the mushrooms out! We use lots of paprika too. My maternal grandparents immigrated to the US from Hungary around 1904-1906. The area they lived in is now called Burgenland and it is part of Austria. What part of Hungary are your ancestors from?

    Have you ever noticed that white tablecloth in my photos? It was made in the village of Himod-Hoevej, near Sopron….

  3. My kids won’t like the mushrooms either, but I’m going to leave them in anyway! Perhaps with enough exposure, they will soon grow to love them as much as I do. 😀 Thanks for your recipe MK!

Leave a Reply

