many colors

Ever since I saw this finish by Jeanne over at Vonna’s blog I’ve been casting about for a design to use it on, I thought it would be just right for Night & Day from Little House Needleworks which I was nearly finished stitching. They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, I hope Jeanne accepts my compliment. I think hers turned out much better, I’ll have to try this finish again. I tried to use supplies I had on hand, I love the fabric she used on the back of hers and the wide band for hanging.

Jerry had dinner in Denver with several friends last night so I made up a batch of scones to enjoy while I stitched. The recipe for these can be found on the recipe tab at the top of the page.

I’m getting things ready for shipping tomorrow, here are some of the thread packs I’m kitting up for customers.

:0)

18 thoughts on “many colors

  1. I love that finish! You did a beautiful job. Any chance of a tutorial on this one?

    I just recently found your blog and thoroughly enjoy it!

  2. Hi Mary Kathryn, what a beautiful finish! I saw Jeanne’s pillow on Vonna’s blog as well and was also super impressed with it. You picked a great design for it and beautiful fabrics for the patchwork.

    Did you make the cording and tassels? I’m wondering how you attached it to the pillow so invisibly…

    Your Hope Perches is also lovely! I finished that this week, too and went shopping for finishing fabric last night. I had planned to do a pillow similar to Tanya’s picture as well – it’s so perfect for that design.

    Your scones look very yummy. πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE your Night and Day and especially the finishing skills at work there! Funny – I saw it and thought I had seen it before but knew this was a new post on your Blog so blinked again and when I read it, saw your referring to Vonna and the lightbulb went back on and then I realized it was similar. But why not? I adore it…hmmm, wonder if I could do that pointy bottom thingie?! Doubt it so I’ll just admire yours.

    Happy Sunday,
    Tanya

  4. Mary Kathryn,
    Night & Day looks amazing!! I’m always so envious of your finishes and this one is no exception. Those scones look so yummy too!! It is always more than a joy to visit your blog and see your amazing photos and read all about your creative and wonderful life.

  5. My but this is a beautiful finish Mary Kathryn! I too am critical of my own work but I really think this is just beautiful. You did a great job and yes, I too think imitation is a form of flattery. Jeanne could have sold kits of this finish. πŸ™‚

    I am a big scone lover. I make them following a traditional English recipe. They are just so yummy aren’t they? I love eating them with lemon curd and whipped cream (my substitute for clotted cream which we cannot buy here).

    Hugs ~
    Heidi

  6. Your Night & Day and Hope Perches are both beautiful! I love the unique finish on Night & Day.

    Did you really need to show the scones? They look sinfully delicious!

  7. Mary Kathryn,
    What a lovely choice of design for this medieval looking hanging bolster. I love the patchwork fabrics and beautfiul tassels. Your really do have magic fingers and I sometimes wonder if those fairy elves come out at night to help you as you always have a beautiful finish to keep us glued to our seats :>)
    Jeanne’s design is definitely a huge inspiration
    Hugs, Angela

  8. Your finish is beautiful Mary Kathryn! Thank you for the yummy scone recipe. I love scones and will be trying this one out soon.

Leave a Reply

