found a moment

Well, I’ve decided part of Ethan’s extreme crankiness was because he was sick.  He has a little respiratory bug with a fever and has taken his crankiness to a new level!

I’m almost done with JBW’s Country French Rooster as you can see,  such a fast stitch and of course I have a pillow planned.  I had to remove the verse from my Northanger Abbey Sampler that I stitched in the wrong color, I’ve decided to finish up the border on this one and save all my hand-dyed fiber work til the end.

I did find a moment for a long drive to a quilt shop I had never visited before.  Long enough to enjoy most of the 3rd act of Die Walküre. When I got there I found out they were having a sale. The shop was very crowded and really large, almost too much to see. I have found a good source for 1930 repro fabrics now though. You can see the fqs I picked up while I was there. Angela S – I didn’t find any red/white toile but they did have this pretty red and white floral.

Tyler has left for a week of visits to colleges in the midwest.  I hope he has a good time, wears his seat-belt, and doesn’t run out of money.  It makes such a difference to the noise level here when there are only 2 boys around.  I’ll miss Tyler, but enjoy the quiet.  I have a lot of paper writing to do this week so it is good timing.

If anyone out there has a CrossStitcher Magazine issue 173 they would like to trade, please let me know.  I would love to stitch the Dutch Windmill in that issue for my kitchen.

:0)

PS – free Super Bowl Sunday shipping all day for all orders at my webshop

20 thoughts on “found a moment

  1. I hope your little one feels better soon. I really like the JBW rooster,I like it stitched in that color also,is the fabric you are going to use for the pillow? If so its lovely.
    I thought I had that issue,and I Am sure I did but I gave a BUNCH of old magazines away two weeks ago 😦 I wish I would have saved that chart from there.
    Have a great super bowl day!

  2. Hi Mary Kathryn,
    I received my order Friday – thank you!!! Your fabrics are beautiful here and that rooster looks fun. Good luck to Tyler and hope Ethan feels better soon.

    Tanya

  3. Mary Kathryn,
    I do hope Ethan is beginning to feel a bit better. Crankiness is a sure sign all is not well and these respiratory bugs make you feel really miserable.
    I love your little rooster, he’s got such a comical expression ohn his face.
    The fabrics are so pretty, especially the red and white floral, the colours are perfect but my heart longs for the toile :>)
    Do you mean the Americal version of Cross Stitcher magazine or the UK one? I don’t know but I may have the UK one which you can happily have if it’s the one :>)
    Hugs, Angela

  4. Hope Ethan feels better Mary Kathryn. Where in the Midwest is Tyler looking at colleges? Isn’t it nice to find a new shop? Sounds like you got some beautiful fabric.

  5. I would never have thought to do the rooster in black, but it looks awesome with your fabric choice. Hope Ethan feels better soon and good luck to Tyler in his college search.

  6. Beautiful stitching as always Mary Kathryn. I love the fabric you’ve choosen to finish your rooster pillow, it’s going to look gorgeous.

    I do hope Ethan is feeling better now!

  7. Love the black and white toile…My house is very French Country…so I always lean toward those types of patterns and fabrics. Can’t wait to see it finished.

  8. I hope Ethan is better soon. I can relate to the crankiness – my little one was sick last week too, and he was cranky for a week leading up to last week (I couldn’t figure out why at the time), and he’s still feeling a little under the weather.

    Beautiful fabric choices, Mary Kathryn!

  9. I have just been nominated with a “You Make My Day Award,” and I have to nominate 10 other people, and you are one, Mary Kathryn! I love your blog! You are such an inspiration to me for stitching and sewing!

  10. Mary Kathryn,

    I just bought this rooster today, after seeing yours! I just haven’t decided yet what color to do him in. I like yours done in the black – I was thinking of either that – or maybe black with some red thrown in – or doing him in a dark brown on cream.. … Hmmmm….

    Linda in VA

  11. Love your site! I’m wondering if you ever design cross-stitching patterns. I have a few friends who have wondered how this happens.
    Keep up the beautiful expressions! They’re great.
    Grace

Leave a Reply

