Rocky Mountain Wednesdays

rmw 1231a

rmw 1231c

rmw 1231b

rmw 1231d

We’ve had some really windy (Chinook winds) days and nights. Two nights ago several gust were measured near here at 98+ mph including one that was 111 mph! Lots of tumbleweeds and blowing dirt with not so tiny bits of rock. The wind does fun things with the clouds, I think these look like flying saucers!

ie298012

Ann’s name was drawn for the final giveaway of 2008 here at the blog – thank you to everyone for visiting and taking time to comment, I’m glad that you enjoy my blog from time to time, I really enjoy keeping it!

See you next year!

:0)

PS – a new Chinook warning was just issued til 8am tomorrow a 78mph gust has already been recorded

9 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain Wednesdays

  1. We too have been having high winds up here. It blows the snow off the road and makes them like ice. I love all your pictures and have appreciated the lovely items from you webshop. I have really enjoyed the pink scissor fob that came in the last order. Thanks so much.

  2. Beautiful scenes, Mary Kathryn! I always look forward to your Wednesdays. I show my DH. He loves this kind of landscape – he wants to move there. :o)

    Happy New Year!!!

  3. MK, once again you have my eyes “green with envy” at your beautiful pictures.

    Funny you mentioning the Chinook winds. Having grown up out West and now living in Ohio whenever we have strong winds I tell everyone the winds are either the Chinook winds or the Santa Ana Winds! LOL

    Hugs to you!!

  4. Wow! Now that’s considered a hurricane here in the US! You stay safe!
    Your pics are so pretty…ahh…nature’s beauty:)
    Congratulations to Ann!! Great way to start 2009!!

  5. Happy New Year, MK! Those are called “wave” or “lenticular” clouds. Did you see the recent news photos of the series of those that formed over Mr. Ranier recently? I’ve seen them over the Rockies many times and they never fail to amaze me!! Another one of nature’s wonders. Good to see the Garden of the Gods again as well. Wishing you and yours a Happy, Healthy and Loving New Year!!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lenticular_cloud

Leave a Reply

