Everything Austen Challenge

jaa

jab

A finish!! Jane Austen on the Weather, this is from The Sampler Girl’s Companion Booklet #4. I stitched this on light sand Belfast Linen using Carrie’s Creation Silks. I think these threads are beautiful, and by the way, it is dreadful hot here today!

This is the perfect kickoff for the Everything Austen Challenge! For the challenge you choose 6 Austen ‘projects’ you would like to complete by January 1, 2010. The challenge is mainly about reading and viewing….but I plan to include crafty things in my list as well.  Actually I didn’t include any viewing since I will probably rewatch everything available at least once by 1/1/2010 anyway.

For the challenge I plan 1. to get at least four things framed and hung on my….

jac

…very pitiful Jane Austen Sampler ‘wall’…

jae

2. 3. & 4. Read three Jane Austen-ish books….

jaf

and for 5. & 6. finish stitching two Jane Austen projects (at least).

jad

I’m already planning to include  the challenge ‘prize’ to my next Amazon order so I’m only joining for the Austen Fellowship of the challenge but what fun! 

everythingausten2

 

 

 

 

:0)

17 thoughts on “Everything Austen Challenge

  1. Here I am scrolling slowly down and reading, and when I got to the picture of your Jane Austen wall I burst out laughing!! LOL! You are too funny! Thanks for the laugh!

  2. Oh, what a great challenge! And yes, your JA wall gave me a good laugh. I should photograph my mental walls, which are almost over-full of samplers …. LOL!

  3. WOW, you pictures are beautiful! I’m a knitter myself and have done a bit of stitching in the past, but nothing like this. Your stuff is beautiful!
    Thanks so much for joining my challenge!!

  4. I love all your Jane Austen projects! The wall will be fabulous when everything’s framed and hung. This is one of those sites that got me back to reading Austen. (And I love that little pillow, too!) The challenge sounds like fun!

  5. Looks like you’re all ready for your JA challenge! Seems you have quite a lot of finishes that once you get them framed, will fill your JA wall nicely 🙂

  6. I didn’t realize Jane Austen had written about the weather ( and what she says is so true ) . It’s such a good idea to stitch all those pieces with Jane Austen’s sentences. She is a favourite writer for so many of us. and your pincushion is a beauty.
    Have a good day,
    Nicole

  7. This is a fabulous way to attack the challenge! I truly admire a good piece of stitching. I love thread, I love fabric. Put them together and I love the textures. Your pieces look so pretty together and will look wonderful framed.

  8. As a quilter who also loves JA, I am planning a quilt in response to the challenge. I love your pincushion. I digitized a JA silhouette and stitched it on silk and framed it, but I am envious of your wall. I may have to start one too. Very original!

  9. Mary Kathryn, hi, me again :>)
    I love your Jane Austen collection of stitching. Everything is so varied and inspiring. I can’t wait to see how you finish off these pieces.
    Can I ask you where you got the fabric for the little portrait pincushion? It’s so pretty and I’d love to have a go at making one.
    Many thanks Angela

Leave a Reply

