we need a little Christmas

alcb

alca

alce

alcf

alcg

alcc

I have NOT decorated for Christmas yet. It’s been a tradition to do the decorating the day after Thanksgiving, but not this year.

I did complete a new addition to my stitched Christmas things. This little (Ho Ho Ho) pillow is from Prairie Schooler #135 Good Saint Nick. I’d like to make two more small pillows with the rest of the sampler but I don’t know if that will happen this year. I did start a little design from Blackbird Designs Joyeux Noel Book. I’m not doing very well on this simple design and when I realized I had the bird stitched wrong – AGAIN, I flung it in my stitching basket and went to bed last night. The design also has a date on it, the BBD girls used the year 1934, I’m thinking of using 1941 which is a post for another day if I ever get this done.

I really shouldn’t be stitching at all, aside from having an enormous project in the works, my workroom is in shambles, I’m showing you the only semi-tidy corner, if I showed you the whole room you’d have the vapors, trust me. I keep getting started on my cleaning but then get distracted admiring linen, and thread, and things……

:0)

16 thoughts on “we need a little Christmas

  1. I have not yet decorated for Christmas yet either. It is my first one without my kids at home and it is affecting me more than I thought. I love your stitched pieces that you pictured today. I just finished a Prairie Schooler ornament too but it is in the mail today. I can’t share a photo until my friend receives it. It turned out really cool though.

  2. Love your blog. Check it nearly every day. Please enter me in your contests. Love to see what you stitch, everything is so beautiful and perfect.
    Michelle

  3. Oh good. I was just thinking – ‘look how nice and tidy her sewing room is Marsha. Why can’t your sewing room look like that.’ I spent hours tracking down items to make my ornaments today and I was not happy. anyway, the pillows and other stitching is beautiful and colorful. the linen stack is pretty and the quilting stacks are really really pretty. It’s a nice corner.

  4. I’m with you. I haven’t taken out one shred of Christmas trimming yet and I like the tradition of getting it all out after Thanksgiving, but not this year.
    I love all your pictures, Mary Kathryn. Are those tassels pre-made or did you make those yourself? Very cute!

  5. Fun and wonderful post Mary Kathryn! It has me breaking out in song…
    Deck the halls with boughs of holly…
    Fa la la la la la la la la….

    I too have lost my tradition of decorating right after Thanksgiving. My living room is still too full of boxes but I need to work on getting the tree inside and set up. I have to be ready for my quilt group’s annual Christmas party. They expect everything to be all festive.

    Now my quilt studio? That is coming along great. I changed it back to our front bedroom since we had everything moved for my new floor (read about it on TheCranberryChronicles) and it is wonderful to be back in that room. Only this week, I cannot do much work since I have to rest after having my infected tooth pulled. Stitching, blog hopping and dreaming are on the schedule this week. 🙂

    How are you feeling?

    Hugs ~
    Heidi

  6. I love your collection of Christmas stitching, and even just the tidy corner of your workroom makes me drool LOL. Such pretty fabrics!

  7. Really cute! You have some really pretty ornaments. Doesn’t it seem like sometimes the simplest charts give us fits? I have had that happen here a lot recently too.

Leave a Reply

