ornament stitching

os d

os c

os b

os a

os q

os r

I’ve managed to finish an ornament! This is Joyous Heart from Homespun Elegance. I changed the threads a bit and added some beads. A very quick stitch. I mostly used Crescent Colours on 28 count Sandcastle linen form Wichelt.

I’ve made a start on the 1st LHN Ornament from the new Ornament of the Month club. Amber stitched the little girl in green so that we both made a bit of this one. I plan to make this a little more sparkly with extra beads as well.

Now for some details about the trim and tassels I used on the Blackbird and Prairie Schooler projects I recently finished.

I purchased about a yard of this premade trim with tassels. I cut the tassels off the trim and used them on PS Old Saint Nick and then I used the left over trim on the Vintage Pincushion from Blackbird. I sewed the tassels on with invisible thread (and added a bead) and sewed the trim into my seam on the sewing machine for the pincushion.

Sorry about the poor lighting on the trim, I hope you can get the idea. This time of year, when there is snow, a blue/grey light comes into my workroom most of the day as you can see, the house next door is grey and blocks out the sun a good part of the day making it hard to take pictures in natural light that look like anything. I need to find time to experiment with some different lighting techniques for this time of year.

:0)

14 thoughts on “ornament stitching

  1. What pretty ornaments and I really love your trim/finishing idea. I’m so going to use that on the piece I’m working on. I’ve been tossing around some ideas but like yours the best. Thanks!

  2. Love the new ornament, Mary Kathryn! You always choose such lovely pieces to stitch. Your finishing is so awesome, too. Thank you for sharing how you do the tassel/trim!

  3. Mary Kathryn I just love looking and reading your blog. The fact that you share such good tips is appreciated and the photography is beautiful as always. Just wanted you to know how much we
    think of you.

    Joyous holidays!

Leave a Reply

