DMC

DMC g

DMC h

DMC f

DMC e

thread boards

I’ve made a bit more progress on my DMC color project. I’m stitching one little house for each DMC color and labeling it with the color number. I don’t have a pattern for this, you can see the way the house is stitched in the close-up and the simple numbers I’m backstitching. I’m following the DMC color card for color order which you can find here. The first 3 columns are complete. I’m planning on a little more purple stitching today. I’m stitching this on a fat half of 32 count antique white lugana and should have room to spare.

As I go I’m reorganizing my DMC threads. Making the switch back to bobbins (I go back and forth with bobbins/baggies). I’ve found these great boards for hanging up rings of threads I have kitted up for works in progress or things I plan to start soon. Very handy! They come in oak, maple, and pine and with different types of hardware and finishes. There isn’t a website but feel free to contact me if you are interested.

My car got a bit crunched yesterday when my neighbor’s truck rolled down the hill and smashed into it (no one was in either vehicle). My transportation may be a bit limited this week, I should know on Monday about repairs and how long. It’s inconvenient but I’m not too upset, there are much more important things, my neighbor feels terrible and I had a hard time convincing him it wasn’t a big deal. We are all just very glad no kids, who are often skateboarding or riding bikes in the area, were out there when it happened.

I’m off to gather up my purple threads.

:0)

24 thoughts on “DMC

  1. Mary Kathryn,

    I’m happy that no one was hurt by the rolling truck incident. You certainly have the right attitude about it. Things can ALWAYS be replaced.

  2. OMG I love this! I know a few people who are working on similar things, but I haven’t seen houses! Please do give us more updates as it moves along; I’m new enough to your blog that I haven’t seen it if you have posted about this before! 🙂

    About how far along are you?

  3. I am very impressed by your project! I can’t wait to see it all finished!

    Sorry to hear about your car, but glad no one was hurt!

  4. Your DMC color project is just crazy! LOL. I love the progress you have made so far.

    Ouch, I’ve had that happen before to a vehicle. Although it was my stupidity for not setting the brake that caused it to roll backward over a small boulder! My poor Barney was in the shop for some time (1995 Magenta Nissan 200SX SE – hence the name “barney”). Luckily, no other vehicles were in the way!

  5. I guess I missed your original posting on this color chart but it’s great. I think I’ll start one and get my threads organized. And if goes well I might do the same for all my other fibers. One thing I’ve noticed is the color looks a little different stitched than it does in the skein.

  6. Sorry to hear about your car, hope it doesn’t have too much damage that is costly to repair. Your DMC chart looks wonderful, such a fantastic idea.

  7. Wow! Mary Kathryn, that is looking great. Will you frame it or turn it into a wallhanging? You have been busy with so many wonderful projects. Love the quilt too. I am also very honored that you gave me the award. Thank you. That always feels good to know your blog is valued.

    I am so sorry to hear what happened to your car. It must have been a huge shock when it happened. My first thought was thank God you were not in the car and injured. Hope the repairs are quick.

    Hugs from Holland ~
    Heidi

  8. Mary Kathryn,
    I’m so sorry to read about the accident to your car. Thank goodness no one was in the vehicles even though it’s a great inconvenience.
    Your DMC colour project is just amazing. there must be something very relaxing in stitching these little houses a few at a time :>)
    Warm wishes Angela xx

Leave a Reply

