as promised

 pppa

For the tutorial I’ve made another version of the strawberry *pouf* I shared the other day, this time finishing it as a little carrot. 
pppe
pppd

You can see the scale on this 1 inch grid mat for cutting your pieces.  Make your pattern for the berry/carrot like a curvy letter V.  Cut two of this shape from your fabric.  I’ve used a 1/4 inch seam allowance for this project.

Cut a 9×4 inch rectangle for your berry/carrot top.  you can make this longer than 9 inches if you want it more floppy.

pppg
ppph

pppi

fold your rectangle for the top in half and then cut the corners on the diagonal as shown.

With right sides of the fabric together, sew the berry/carrot pieces together leaving the top of the V shape open.  Clip the seam allowance on the curve at the tip to help it look nice when you turn it right side out.  Sew the berry/carrot top together as shown leaving an opening for turning.  after turning your top, sew the opening shut by hand or by machine.

pppk

pppl

pppm

pppn

Using your filling of choice (I used a combination of ground walnut shells and fiber fill) stuff your project, once I have it partially stuffed, nothing bulging out the top – yet, I gather the top by making big stitches all around the opening (running stitch, or basting stitch).  Keep pushing in the stuffing, I mean really stuff this baby, when you don’t think you can get anymore in, put some more in.  When it’s really, really full start pulling to two ends of your stitching along the top while tucking in the stuffing as the hole gets smaller (hint, bigger running stitches make a smaller hole in the end then small stitches do).  Tie the opening shut, you might need a friend’s finger when you do this step.  Either tuck the ends of the threads inside our snip them off.

Tie a knot in the center of your berry/carrot top and attach to the pouf with stitches or with a product like Fabric Fusion.  Add pins, plain, cute, or fancy and enjoy!  For the carrot I’m using Just Pins from Just another button company and for my berry I’m using pretty marking pins from My Big Toe.

pppb

Now for a little history about this pouf project and more to come from Impie, Hattie & Bea – this project got it’s start in February when Diane at Little House Needleworks and I were talking about pincushions and some different ideas regarding the subject.  I came up with 3 different ideas but wasn’t sure what they would become at IH&B.  I’M happy to say that they will be offered as a free tutorial and as a Pin Pouf Project Pack from Impie, Hattie & Bea.  The pack will have the fabric shown along with Simple directions and pattern.  The Berry Pouf will be available at the new website this weekend.  The other two poufs will be shown here soon and then become available as a Pin Pouf Project Pack as well.

ppp

(Images, and content copyright 2010, Impie, Hattie & Bea)
BPPT

15 thoughts on “as promised

  1. Mary Kathryn, it’s been a long time since I’ve blogged (since December), but you are still by far one of the best finishers on the planet. You always awe and amaze and inspire. Beautiful pieces!

  2. Your strawberry is so cute that I had to make one for myself yesterday and I ended with a carrot, too !

    Thanks for the tutorial !

  3. Hi Mary Kathryn, I love those little pin poufs. I looked on your website and I couldn’t find them. Are they available yet? I’d like four of the orange fabric and are you going to offer the other fabric as well?

    Hugs,
    Katrina

    • Hi Katrina,

      I’ll be listing them tomorrow. The fabric is a bit different, I wasn’t going to do the carrot at first so I don’t have enough of what I used. I’m making a sample that shows the fabric in the kit and I’ll blog it tomorrow morning – thank you so much for your interest!

  4. Thanks so much for the step by step tutorial. I’m a visual learner and it helps to see what I’m supposed to do, rather than read it. Beautiful work, as always!

  5. Thank you for the tutorial Mary Kathryn.
    I love all three of your pincushion ideas esp. the pyramid one.
    I just have to attempt to make a carrot and happily I even have some of the same Patisserie fabric on hand.

Leave a Reply

