Rocky Mountain Wednesdays

nmtsc

rmw91f

rmw91e

rmw91a

rmw91b

rmw91d

rmw91c

rmw91g

I’ve spent the last 5 RMW posts sharing photos from the short trip (short in terms of time, certainly not distance) Jerry, Ethan, and I took at the end of July, so far I’ve written about Colorado National Monument, Arches Nation Park, Salt Lake City & Antelope Island, Glacier National Park (part 1 & part 2), this post is about the next stop on our journey – Yellowstone.

Like Glacier I’ll be posting twice about this place. Yellowstone isn’t quite as impressive scenically like Glacier or even our own Rocky Mountain National Park, living so close to the Rockies I might be a bit jaded but as you can see there were some spectacular views. For me Yellowstone was all about wildlife and wildflowers. I posted the first photo a few weeks ago but it really is a great summary of our visit to this wonderful national park.

I can’t begin to describe the amazing wildflowers that were simply everywhere. Jerry was talking with a park ranger who said it was the best year for wildflowers in a really long time. What started out as taking a few pictures of flowers here and there turned into 2 days of trying to take a picture of every different kind of flower we could find. Jerry bought me 2 different books for identifying flowers. Most of the photos would be somewhat boring on the blog but I plan to use them for sketching in my nature journal. I think between us we took over 300 wildflower pictures.

We camped 1 night in the park in the Bridge Bay Campground. We had a view of the lake from our tent window which you can see here, there happened to be a full moon that night and it was really beautiful. I completely enjoyed Yellowstone.

Next week I’ll share a few of the 150 wildlife pictures we took.

:0)

4 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain Wednesdays

  1. I really enjoyed your beautiful wildflower pictures – I would have been right there with you, trying to get a picture of every different kind!

Leave a Reply

