I’ve been reading

readb

reada

readc

readd

I rarely buy magazines, more like – I never buy magazines. For some reason I’ve bought 3 recently. I found all of these enjoyable and had to stitch my 2 favorite ornaments right away!

I’ve also finished two books. One of them I loved and the other I didn’t like at all. I highly, like right up there with The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, recommend The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. I haven’t enjoyed a book so much in a long while and I look forward to reading more of her books.

On the other hand, I’m sorry I took the time to read the other book. I was planning to read 2 books by this author for the Everything Austen Challenge II, I will not be reading the other one. Aside from not enjoying the story and disliking the main character very much, I don’t like the ‘f’ word in books I read, movies I watch, music I hear, or any other place else you can think of, it honestly jars my senses. I seriously thought about tossing this book in the trash the first time I came across the word – I wish I had. Because it is impossible for me not to feel like a horrible meanie writing this, I will gladly tell you that the author says some very good things about the pleasure of doing needlework.

Not sure what I’ll read next (aside from the history books I always have going) I’m listening to the first book in the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter by Susan Wittig Albert, enjoyable so far in a mindless sort of way. I’m hoping to pick up The House at Riverton (Kate Morton) if I can find time to stop at Borders. If you are over at Goodreads I try to keep my reading shelves updated and I’d love to connect with you there.

:0)

11 thoughts on “I’ve been reading

  1. Thanks for recommending the Kate Morton book. I loved “Guernsey” so will look for this one. Have you read “The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet”? I really enjoyed that one. Also, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie? I have to get back to keeping up on GoodReads…
    And I love your ornies!

  2. If Forgotten Garden is as good as the Guernsey Potato Peel and Literary Society, I’ll have to get it – thanks for the recommendation! Thanks too for the note about the other book; I won’t read a book with that kind of language.

    I haven’t yet seen the magazines you purchased. Will have to check them out if I get to a bookstore before they’re gone.

  3. I enjoyed The Forgotten Garden too (and Guernsey…) – I have The House at Riverton but haven’t read it yet.

    Your two ornaments look lovely, I hope my magazine arrives today, I’m impatient to start one of the new designs!

  4. Lovely ornaments Mary Kathryn. I’m sure you will love The House at Riverton – it is one of my favourite reads of the past couple of years – highly recommended! I have not read Forgotten Garden yet but plan to add it to my e reader very soon!

Leave a Reply

