big projects

ABC

bpe

bpa

bpd

bpc

bpb

This alphabet is another old project. I finished this when Kellen was a baby (he’s 15 now). It’s in pretty bad shape. The frame is coming apart too. It seems teenage boys like this chart. I can’t tell you how many times the kids’ friends have stood in front of this saying the name of each object, they always struggle a bit with the O and the X. There is a slice in the fabric by the S (one of my favorite letters on the sampler) and I think the K looks like miss Ophelia.

Here are a few of the projects that may be in my 2011 line-up. I get distracted by new things so of course nothing is set in stone. I saw a blog promoting starting a new project every day for the first 15 days of 2011 and then working to get those done by the end of the year. I love the idea but should probably only start 5 new projects and finish 10 old ones.

I’ve made a teensy bit of progress on the border of my Red House Sampler – a very big project for me. I think I just might see this one on my wall in 2011.

:0)

PS – Elizabeth Ann Adams 1839 is available at the webshop

8 thoughts on “big projects

  1. LOL!! I still think that counts for the challenge! At least for those of us doing it on the LHN board! 🙂 Just work on a different WIP or new start for the 1st 15 days and try to finish them all by the end of the year. Or, just keep starting new ones as you finish old ones, which is my plan!! 🙂

    Your Sampler is gorgeous, BTW, and your the story about the teens naming off all the things on the chart made me giggle. I can just see my ds doing the same thing!!

  2. Wow, I always enjoy seeing what you are working on and this piece is no disappointment. Love it. Loved looking through your blog at all your projects and patterns….very enjoyable.
    blessings,
    Debbie

  3. I love the choice of projects you made for next year. And Brenda Keyes’ Red House Sampler is such a beauty. It’s very high up on my to-stitch pile, too.
    I’m one of the Crazies as well and I’m so looking forward to making my final choice of the 15 projects for 2011. It’s just fun, no matter if I’ll finish them or not.

  4. I have that same alphabet piece from Cricket finished also, many years ago! I did it around the time when our son was born. I don’t have a tear in mine, but my frame is not in the best of shape either! Lol.

  5. What a great sampler and how wonderful that the boys all loved it.

    I’ve been debating that same challenge but wanted to mix current WIPs and new starts. I think that’s what I’ll end up doing. Glad to see there are others doing that.

  6. I like to start some new projects in 2011 but 15… I think more to start with 3 or something.
    I am very busy to finish my last project and than remains one sampler.
    Regards from Holland, Riet

  7. I always liked that alphabet pattern and always wanted to do it. I’m glad you did – it’s a big one. 15!!! That’s crazy talk. But I do usually start quite a few, they’re just spread out over the year.

Leave a Reply

