family record

em4

em3

em2

029

em

I finished up this sampler (Brick House Sampler from Little by Little) during the last few days I was in Colorado. This is stitched using 1 thread over 2 on 35 count lambswool linen. I changed many of the thread colors. I personalized this as a record of my grandmother’s grandchildren. Ella was my mother’s mother.

At the top is her name, this is her married name. 1906 is the year of her birth and the M in the center of the vine is for Mehrkamper. The other letters at the top are the first initials of her 7 grandchildren. The ‘O’ and ‘E’ at the bottom stand for Otto (her husband) and Ella (herself).

I showed this to my mom today and I know she would like me to stitch one for her and her sister (my grandmother had two children). I don’t really like stitching things more than once but this went pretty fast and I do think it would be nice to give them each one; perhaps they’ll become family heirlooms someday.

This is a picture of the house I grew up in. We moved here when I was 3 and I lived there til I was 18. It looks pretty good still. My dad did all that landscaping, which has slowly washed down the hill, it was very well done ages and ages ago. There used to be 2 trees in the front yard and the back yard seemed enormous. It would be good to mention here the my grandma (Ella) lived with us for 6 months of the year (in this little house) and lived the other six with her other daughter and her family in New Jersey.

After lunch with my mom and sister and shopping all afternoon for fun things like kitty litter and dish soap (I did run into JoAnns for some DMC), I went to a fish fry at the American Legion with my mom and my stepdad. Here is Ethan making some new friends at a nearby table. After the fish fry we went to a local church that was showing The newest Narnia movie (Dawn Treader) in their theater. I was exhausted by the time we got home for the night.

10 thoughts on “family record

  1. I love the Brick House sampler, and what a wonderful sentiment! I don’t like stitching something more than once either, but maybe in your case… since you now have the time? The sampler I really love that you are working on/have done was a bigger one with some more vibrant colors in it. The bricks of the house were a deeper red; I’ve seen it in older posts. Maybe you know which one I’m talking about. I’ll have to go back…

    Pretty little blue house where you grew up – lovely setting! I love blue houses.

    That American Legion is certainly more pleasant than ours! Ours is dingy, dark, and smells like beer and old cigarette smoke.

    • Hi Nancy,

      Thank you so much for taking time to comment here. I did bring Red House Sampler with me and I’ve just got a bit of the border to finish up, maybe I’ll show a finish this week!

  2. What a lovely tribute to your grandmother. I will be a family keepsake! You do such beautiful work and are such an inspiration. I hope that you recovered from your day and your life settles down soon. I am glad that you still have your kitties…Take care!

Leave a Reply

