carrots & strawberries

cake

cakeb

cakec

caked

I hope your Mother’s Day was blessed!

I’m three loads into laundry day here. With just the three of us I can limit doing laundry to once a week. I thought I would take a minute and do a bit of blogging while I wait for the next load to fold.

I finished up Carrot Cake in Country Cottage Needlework’s Cottage Cakes thread pack series. I really love the convenience of thread packs even more now that I’m ‘not at home’ as they say. this went really fast and on 28 lambswool is a nice large piece. I’m thinking of finishing these into pillows for kitchen chairs, as soon as I can lay my hands on the Cherry pack I’ll get a second one started.

We had lots of strawberry shortcake yesterday. Janet made the sauce by slicing the berries and adding sugar. They create their own syrup as they break down a bit and are fresh and sweet. I made the shortcake using Jiffy mix using butter rather than shortening and increasing the sugar. We added a bit of ice cream and whipped cream – yum. We served these at a little Mother’s Day lunch (Jerry & Janet’s parents came) and also for the college church group who were over later in the evening.

The lake is peaceful and pretty today. Orange Cat (that’s his name) is enjoying the sunshine.

:0)

6 thoughts on “carrots & strawberries

  1. It’s so nice to be able to keep up on where you are and what you’re doing! Love the carrot cake, and the strawberry shortcake makes my mouth water. Love Orange Cat!!!

  2. Your stitched piece is lovely. I love the thread colours, and the Strawberry Shortcake is making my mouth water. What a great name Orange cat, has 🙂

Leave a Reply

