something different

hex4

hex3

hex5

hex1

hex2

hex6

Thank you so much for your condolences for Orange.  We all really miss him, everyday.

I’ve been trying my hand at some English paper piecing.  I think I will make the small blue and pink square into a pin cushion.  I have a quilt in mind for the 2 inch hexagons.  I learned that the measurement refers to one side of the hexagon, not the whole thing.   I wasn’t planning on them being so large but now I like them.  I have Aunt Doris’ old quilt with me which she did by hand years and years ago, I should really finish this into something useful. Looking at her work makes me even happier to be working with large hexagons!

I’m using a fat eighth bundle of Breakfast at Tiffany’s fabric from Fig Tree Quilts on this, charm packs would work well too I think.  I think I can make about 40 ‘squares’ and then I’ll come up with a scheme for putting these together as  a quilt.  I’ve run out of paper pieces at this point since you leave them in the fabric till all the sides are attached to other hexagons and I’ve only been able to remove the center pieces so far for reuse.  I’m thinking about stocking these at the webshop.

I’ve been doing a bit of reading this week.  I’ve finished the top two in this stack and I’m half-way through George, Nicholas and Wilhelm Jane Austen Book Club was just okay – about what I expected having seen the movie.   I really liked Murder at Mansfield Park although I was hesitant since I actually do like Fanny Price!

:0)

2 thoughts on “something different

Leave a Reply

