Strawberries on Saturday

ss1

ss5

ss3

ss4

ss2

A fun finish of Primitivebettys’ Strawberry Sampler. Jerry says he likes this pillow because it looks like 5 lbs of ground beef. You can understand why I need to share my stitching finishes with people outside my home! I used a miscellaneous scrap of hand-dyed fabric and the Crescent Colours threads shown, along with Country Lane for the bunny. I think my new pillow adds nice bit of color to the cedar chest bench in my dining area. The pretty Rose Sampler pillow design is by Little House Needleworks.

Tanya shared a recipe for “Emma Woodhouse’s Strawberries & Cream”, which in my haste to enjoy strawberry yumminess I misread and went wrong with immediately. So I had to come up with my own version which follows – slice 1# of berries, combine with 1.5 cups confectioners sugar and 2/3 cup water. Cover and leave on counter top for several hours stirring frequently. I let mine sit for about 4 hours. I used the Bisquick recipe to make Stir and Drop Shortcakes which I baked in a pie dish. Add about 1 cup cream to the strawberry mixture, I used ultra-pasteurized half & half so that I could let it sit at room temperature for a while. When shortcake is desired state of coolness, or as soon as it is edible without burning your tongue, enjoy the cakes, berries, and cream combined.

I ladled some of the liquid into a pitcher, then broke open the shortcake and filled with berry and put more berry on top before pouring more of the cream liquid over it. VERY tasty!

Have a great weekend!

:0)

6 thoughts on “Strawberries on Saturday

  1. The Strawberry Sampler turned out so cute!!! And I do understand why it’s good to share finishes with other stitchers and not just your family! HA! They don’t usually “get” it!! heehee The strawberries and cream are making me hungry!!!

Leave a Reply

