votes please!

v1

v2

and in a different light…

v3

Completely ruined or uniquely vintage??

In a moment when I should have been doing something else entirely.. I decided to pull the stuffing out of this and give it a tea/coffee dyed facelift. Obviously the thread wasn’t anything like colorfast! I almost tossed it but gave a big sniff, filled it with walnut and sewed it shut. I think I either love it or hate it.

What do you think?

Be honest!

:0)

PS ย  This is Peacock Pin Pillow by Beehive Needleworks, stitched on 40 linen with 1 non colorfast strand of thread! Most hand-dyed threads are now colorfast, I stitched this a while ago with older thread.

24 thoughts on “votes please!

  1. To be honest, I looked at your pictures first, then read your post. I did not even notice the color that ran until I read your post. I say it looks good!

  2. I really like it – it adds almost a watercolor dimension to it with the subtle shading of the blue. If it weren’t for that, I think the other dyed effect would be a bit strong and stand out too much. (just my 2cents worth ๐Ÿ™‚

    Laura

  3. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it, but if it really bothers you, take those pretty blue pins and put them around the tail of the bird, you will probably hardly notice the bleed anymore! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I think that the blue tint adds to the piece.It balances the darker beige of the linen.Please keep it!!! It is very charming and has an even more antique effect to the pin keep.Classify it under ‘serendipity’ which is a favorite word of mine.
    Sammy Rusk

  5. I thought it was intentional like a hand dyed piece of fabric specifically for the piece. Actually makes me think this is a good idea for certain cross stitch pieces, to hand dye areas to add to the stitched piece. I think it’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

