this, that, and a giveaway

tnt
(from the back door, I didn’t see the bunny til now)

tnt2
(from my sewing room)

tnt3
(my living room)

tnt4

tnt5

alf2

It’s been pretty busy here. Lots to do in the sewing room and not much time for other things. As you can see it’s starting to look like Fall in my neighborhood, I am enjoying the views so are Jane and Yzma!

I’ve been itching to start a big something. I should probably pull out an old big something and get it finished but I decided to make a start on this Quaker from With My Needle. I actually stitched the ‘A’ of this sampler on 4 pieces of fabric in 4 different threads before I settled on this combination. I really liked the way the printed pattern looked, just the dark ink on the paper, I wanted that look (I can’t show you a picture of the pattern obviously) but this gives that feel to me. I’m stitching this on 40 lambswool linen over 2 with 1 strand of DMC 844. I almost went more blue but it’s time to settle in and stitch this – no more fiddling.

On the knitting needles I’ve got started on a hat for myself. I’ve wanted to give color work a try, I do feel sort of like I’m cheating on this. It’s super easy using two skeins of the same yarn just starting in different spots color-wise. Super easy if I count right. I’m using this yarn (Rainbow Trout) and this pattern – fun!

I’ve been entering drawings all over blog town, to no avail, so I thought I’d just have one of my own. This is my 1,200th post so it’s time for a giveaway! I wanted to say thank you for visiting me here. I haven’t had time to make anything new but if you would like to enter your name for one of these two items (I’m going to pick two names one will win the Needle Roll and the other the Acorn) please leave a comment here and I will draw the winners on Friday night. I really am thankful for everyone who takes time to stop by for a visit!

Hope your week has been full of happy things! Back to the sewing room!

:0)

37 thoughts on “this, that, and a giveaway

  1. I love your blog! Rocky Mountain Wednesday’s remind me of my childhood as I lived in the area…still miss it. I love your stitching and all your style. Thanks for putting the work into creating this.

  2. As I’ve said before, I so look forward to your posts since my sister lives in Franktown. I know what kind of weather and scenery she is enjoying. I miss her so.

    Your hat is gorgeous. Knitting is a mystery so I’m very impressed.

    I was thinking your Quaker looks like ink on paper. Enjoy!

  3. What a nice offering for a giveaway. I haven’t won anything in quite a long time…
    Your knitting is beautiful. I also really like your quaker piece you decided to start.

  4. Enter I wold love to win one of your stitching creations. They are finished so lovely! I see that cute bunny too! Thank You, Beth N. (stormybrew57@aol.com)

  5. How interesting! I JUST ordered Quaker Samplings I & II !! Didn’t know three was out or I may have gotten that! I have quite a few LARGE Quaker charts that seem to overwhelm me just thinking about stitching them, so I thought smaller would be nice! Love that you caught a bunny in your photo! I would like to be entered in your giveaway too! You do beautiful work! Hugs!

  6. Wow your colorwork hat is gorgeous! and the Quaker sampler is looking good! Congrats on the 1200th post! thanks for sharing your lovely work and your kitties.
    Pam

  7. Oh, so gorgeous! The early fall, the cats, (Yzma back again with you?), the knitting (o.0)!, and the smalls. I’d love to win either, but Especially the autumn Needles. 😀

    Please send any good thoughts my family’s way if you can spare them; bit of a tough time right now, thanks!

  8. What pretty views you have! It’s beginning to really look like fall here as well. Love your new project and the colors in your hat! Congrats on also those posts! I’d love to be entered in your drawing.

  9. Absolutely love the knitted cap colors!!
    My daughter who lives in Denver said this week-end that on their hike this past week-end that the leaves were changing color and some leaves were starting to fall from the trees–this is in the Estes Park area.
    And the Quaker sampler is simply gorgeous!
    Please enter my name in the drawings.Thanks!
    Sammy Rusk
    And Happiest 1200 post!!

  10. Please enter me in your giveaway! I enjoy checking into your blog each day. Love the views from your house – love your stitching and your knitting! I went and looked at the pattern for the hat, but don’t see any way to do it without the chart. I need to look again as I cannot (after all of these years) read a chart! I need to get the Quaker Samplings design! I have one of them almost finished. Really like this newest one….

    Linda in VA

  11. I hope I’m not too late to enter your drawing. I love the hat, it’s coming out so pretty and you do have a wonderful view from the windows.

Leave a Reply

