sorry I’m late

afd3

afd2

afd4

afd

afd5

afd1

I was feeling poorly Friday night and went to bed super early, that and Jerry getting home after being out of town added up to a very busy Saturday. Finally now on Sunday afternoon I have a chance to blog and give the names drawn for the giveaway!

But first….I’ve been making some progress on Quaker Sampling III. There is a mistake on the pattern on the lower left side which I corrected in my stitching but didn’t compensate for on other stitches and that was a bit of a problem, I think I’m back on track now. I’m giving some thought to using paler and paler threads as I work across this design until it the stitches are almost as light as the fabric. I need to pull out some threads and decide where I’ll change..

I picked up some really fun dpns at the knit shop, so pretty. I hoped they would work with this yarn for a project I’m trying but they are a bit small. Guess I’ll have to go back to the yarn shop!

I’ve been trying to keep the cookie jar full, not easy with Jerry and the three boys let me tell you. I’m currently out of chocolate chips and need to use up some brown bananas so I think after this post I’ll whip up some banana bread instead. Under my cookie jar is a pretty little cloth I found at a local vintage shop, I think is very sweet and perfect with my cookie jar.

A pretty view on the way to church last night….

and now the winners —

The Acorn goes to …..Vickie who posted

SEPTEMBER 26, 2012 AT 5:57 AM
That hat does not look super easy to me. Very impressed I am. Please count me in! I always enjoy your blog with fabulous photographs.

and

The Needle Roll goes to…..JackieG who posted

SEPTEMBER 26, 2012 AT 12:56 PM
Love your BLOG Mary Kathyrn. Please enter me in the Giveaway. Beautiful stitching as always

Please email me ladies so that I can send your your prize.

Thank you to all who took time to comment and thank you for visiting with me here!

:0)

10 thoughts on “sorry I’m late

  1. Very pretty stitching! I find it so funny that many times your fabric under your things is the same fabric I have. The little flowered material under your pretty needles is the same fabric I made a windowsill runner out of!

  2. Love the sampler.
    Love the needles.
    Love the cookies.
    Love the doily under the cookies.
    I think I’ll go make some chocolate chip cookies now. Or maybe oatmeal chocolate chip. It’s been quite a while since I’ve done that. (Oh, love your cookie jar too. I bought jars like those back in the 70’s for flour, etc. for $1.69 each, A few have been broken over the decades–saw some at Target the other day—the price has risen much more than inflation!)

    • Oh my goodness! Hooray! Hooray! I was getting ready to comment that I too cannot keep up with the baked goods with my three teens, and then I saw that you are blessing me with that beautiful Acorn. Thank you Thank you. πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous quaker; I am beginning to covet it–thanks to the color combination and your beautiful stitching. I love in-progress stitching photos emphasizing texture and color. πŸ˜€

    I saw some autumnal long/satin stitch-effect accent pillows branded by Martha Stewart in a department store recently. They had a really strong ombre effect, but really just used 3 similar colors of very shiny thread to machine-work the foliage pattern. At about $100, they were too expensive IMO, but nice.

    I think your plan for the gradation is a good one–but IDK if I’d have the daring. πŸ™‚

    Really a subtle neutral and blue-neutral post you have here; I’m impressed!

    Thanks for the chance on the giveaways, and congrats to the winners!

Leave a Reply

