at the weekend

we1

ab6

we2

we4

cb

we3

we5

It was a fairly productive weekend. I finished up a pretty big order of Impie, Hattie & Bea things for the distributor, squeezed in a teeny bit of knitting, some stitching, and tried out a new chicken recipe on the family.

I worked on both a large and small project stitching-wise this weekend. I’m nearing the halfway point on Quaker Sampler III from With My Needle and just need to finish up the over one and the bird on Feathered Friends – March from Cherished Stitches. I like several designs in this series and think I’d like to have a basket of little bird finishes.

I always forget that I can’t just dive into a knitting project but have to wind the yarn into something I can work with first. I sometimes remember to have this done when I buy yarn at a shop but when you buy through the mail you are on your own. I’ve looked at the handy ball winder and swift you can buy to make this quick and easy….but they’re quite pricey. I guess I’d rather spend that money on yarn and wind it by hand.

I finally got one skein of the yarn that matches Yzma’s eyes wound in a ball. I knitted a little swatch of the pattern I’m thinking of using to see if I like the look, not sure I do so I’ll pull this out and cast on fewer stitches and see what I think.

I cooked up a another batch of these sugar biscuits since I still had whipping cream that needed to be used up. These are really yummy with coffee. The chicken was very well liked even if it was covered in spinach…actually Kellen is the only one who raised an eyebrow. Here’s the recipe.

:0)

PS – Ophelia had a busy weekend too!

op

3 thoughts on “at the weekend

  1. I like your stitchings, they look so beautiful. Your knitting project is also very lovely … love that color.
    The picture of Ophelia is great … you can see she had a busy weekend 🙂

  2. I like the color of that yarn and can’t wait to see what you are making! I wind all my yarn – whether it is on a hank or not. I just like to see if there are going to be any nasty surprises in the yarn – like a big knot or whatever…. I use an upside down chair when winding a hank. I wish my yarn shop wrapped it, but alas they do not. The place where my sister goes in Ohio wraps it if you want them to. I now have around 24 projects started (not to mention the cross stitch ones)!

    Linda in VA

  3. I really need yo give the sugar biscuits a try, baking is my therapy along with cross stitching. Beautiful colours on your sampler.

Leave a Reply

