something useful

pb7

pb3

pb1

pb2

pb5

pb4

Since I’m spending the day in front of my computer following flood updates and not accomplishing anything else, I thought I would blog.

Sorry for the boring photos and so many of them, humor me. I was pinspired to make some reusable produce bags. Can you see Miss Nosy Knickers having a sniff and again after I scolded her? I used tulle, sewed a double seam, and added a bit of stretchy cord along the top to help keep things inside. A half yard of tulle will make 4 medium sized bags. I think my total cost was about 85 cents. If only I had remembered to use my Hobby Lobby coupon!!

As I mentioned, we are in the midst of a flood event here. My first ever. Our neighborhood is on a little hill for which I am very thankful. Roads in every direction around us are closed and flooded at this point. I did venture out for cat food when it looked like we were well on our way to this very situation. The evacuation traffic was horrible but it’s one thing to be stranded for a few days, but to be stranded with three hungry cats…..

Our particular bit of the flooding has it’s own hashtag on social media if you are interested it’s #stvrainflood and another #longmontflood .

There is a rumor they are about to turn off the water. I’ve filled all my large cooking pots and pitchers and the bathtubs. I think I should go bake something while I can.

:0)

PS – I think I should begin a list entitled : Extraordinary Things that Happen When My Husband is out of Town

PPS – It’s still raining.

8 thoughts on “something useful

  1. I was thinking about you and wondering if you were near the flooding! Stay safe – and I truly hope they don’t turn off your water!!

    Linda in VA

  2. Oh my, I didn’t know you lived in the same town as my son! He and his wife (and their house) are okay but the have some friends that were evacuated staying with them. Prayers for all! Also love the bags. Will have to run to Jo Ann’s soon.

  3. I really don’t get it – why are you putting your fruit in these bags? And so in hopes that things will soon be better there. I have gone thru one flash flood (many years ago when I lived in northern Wy.) I now have a cousin in Colorado Springs, don’t know how things are there now. Colorado has had it’s share of catasrofies this past year.
    Be safe.

  4. Extraordinary indeed! My husband is military – EVERYthing happens when he’s gone & NOthing happens when he’s home. I’ve done so much with so little for so long, I am now qualified to do anything with nothing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

